NYRR New York Mini 10K 2016 Race Recap

Last Saturday, I ran a 10K with over 8,000 other women in Central Park. There’s just something about running with thousands of women that feels so empowering. I feel like we’re all supporting and motivating each other to be stronger.

Mini16_Girls_PROS001

I woke up around 6am and felt very groggy. I like to think of myself as a morning person, but lately, it’s been so hard for me to get out of bed. I have headaches on the regular. I pushed the negative feelings aside and got ready to head out to Central Park.

As usual, I had a Clif Bar (my go-to pre-workout snack), and packed a plastic bag with a water bottle and a banana (which I ate 30 minutes before the race).

According to the NYRR Results page, it was 63 degrees with 63% humidity. I certainly felt the humidity and was not a fan because it made the middle to end of the race feel like torture. I think I ran faster than I had intended to because I wanted it to be over.

Here are my splits according to my Nike+ Running app (It was a 6.2 mile race, but my app recorded 6.36 miles):

Screen Shot 2016-06-16 at 6.20.12 PM

Official splits (compared to when I ran the race in 2013):

5K: 0:29:17 (2013: 0:29:13)
Final: 1:01:39 (2013: 1:01:23)
Avg. Pace: 09:56 (2013: 09:53)

Here’s 20 year old me (who was 16 seconds faster) vs. 23 year old me:

During the last half mile, I bolted to the finish and was out of breath when I crossed the finish line. I picked up my pink medal, pink carnation, and pink bagel (say what?). I had a few bites of the bagel before I felt weird about it being pink and then tossed it (sorry!). Dan met me after the race, we took a few pics, and then it was off to get breakfast and chill for the rest of the day. The best way to spend a Saturday: race, brunch, chill. 🙂

Next race on the list: NYRR Five-Borough Series: Queens 10K

Leave a Reply

