We Run SF 2014, Part 2 (Race Weekend)

Check out Part 1 if you haven’t read it already!

Friday before the race, I headed on over to my friend Lisa’s place (who just so happens to live two seconds away from Union Square where the Expotique and start of the race were – thanks to Lisa and Justin for letting me crash at their place). We both woke up early the next morning to participate in the Shake Out Run at NikeTown SF. We got to hear words from some inspirational female athletes (Joan Benoit Samuelson, Shalane Flanagan, Marlen Esparza, Sarah Reinertsen) and then we were off for a two mile run! Lisa and I spent the rest of the day enjoying the Expo, which had the longest lines ever, but we had fun getting our makeup done, doing a run analysis, shopping, and making cheer signs (check out my ghetto sign…oops).

IMG_7921IMG_7936IMG_7938IMG_7949

So um, we decided to have Chipotle for dinner…BAD IDEA. OH SO BAD. SO VERY BAD. Never doing that again…Woke up the next morning at 4:30am, used the bathroom (teehee), and had a banana with peanut butter, some cereal, and warm water.

Before the race!

Before the race!

After many trips to the bathroom, we were off to the race! We waited quite some time because our wave did not start until 7:27am. My feet started to hurt around mile 5 (those darn hills), but I kept going! Lisa, Corinna, and I spent the first 6 miles together, and then I lost them (booooo). During the first 6 miles, I had been in front so I assumed they were behind me for the entire rest of the race, which made me run a bit slower so I could find them. At the end I found out they were in front of me the whole time by a few minutes HAHA. But Lisa told me I motivated her to run faster which gave me warm fuzzies 🙂

One of the many crazy hills

One of the many crazy hills up ahead!

FOUND THEM!

REUNITED!

Mile 10 was a nasty hill that I ended up walking part of, which the last mile made up for because I finished the race sprinting yay! I finished the race in 2:36:36. My first half marathon was the Brooklyn Half Marathon 2013 which I ran in 2:15:10, so even though I ran slower than I did in that race, I’m glad I ran the entire time (minus part of that hill).

IMG_7968IMG_7970IMG_7963IMG_7977

I had an amazing weekend with these girls and I would love to run this race again! Now I need a new race to prepare for because I want to keep running regularly, be able to run faster, and maintain a healthy lifestyle.

End of 2014 goals: find a new race and a new job!

One thought on “We Run SF 2014, Part 2 (Race Weekend)

Leave a Reply

